Please Welcome the 2017 Program Committee

The Reactive Summit team is hard at work to select to most interesting talks around Reactive Systems, Fast Data, and Reactive Lifecycle Management from all the submissions to our Call for Papers. The CfP will still be open until the end of May, but I want to take the opportunity to introduce you to this year’s Program Committee members.

We’d like to thank this year’s Reactive Summit Program Committee. Thank you for your time, effort, and dedication, to help make the Reactive Summit curriculum robust, educational, and innovative. We appreciate your commitment to the Reactive Summit and to the worldwide Reactive community.

Reactive Summit Program Chair

jonas-bonerJonas Bonér (@jboner) is Founder and CTO of Lightbend, inventor of the Akka project, initiator, and co-author of the Reactive Manifesto and a Java Champion. Learn more at



Program Committee

avatar-320x320pxHelena Edelson (@helenaedelson) has been a Software Engineer for over 16 years. After a decade in distributed messaging she moved exclusively to working with Scala, first for cloud infrastructure automation, then big data, all for large scale distributed systems. As a Senior Cloud Engineer she was on the first Scala team at VMware building multi-tenant cloud automation systems. Then in big data architecting, building and deploying streaming analytics pipelines for Cyber Security for real time threat analysis. She is currently a Software Engineer in Distributed Systems and Big Data at Apple.

Helena is a contributor to Akka (new features in Akka Cluster), committer to several open source projects, and a Cassandra MVP. She is also a speaker at international Big Data, Scala and FP conferences: Kafka Summit, Spark Summit, Strata, Reactive Summit, QCon SF, Scala Days, Philly ETE and the upcoming CurryOn, ScalaWorld and SBTB.

normanNorman Maurer (@normanmaurer)  is the lead of the Netty Project, one of the most used network frameworks on the JVM and a Java Champion with years of experience of building High-Performant / Scaling Network Frameworks. Learn more about him at


deanDean Wampler, Ph.D.(@deanwampler), is Vice President of Fast Data Engineering at Lightbend. He leads the development of Lightbend Fast Data Platform, a streaming data and microservices platform built on Spark, Flink, Kafka, Mesosphere DC/OS, the Lightbend Reactive Platform, and other tools. He is the author of several books for O’Reilly, including “Programming Scala, Second Edition”. Dean is a contributor to several open-source projects, a frequent conference speaker, and the co-organizer of several industry conferences and Chicago-based user groups.

Manuel_BernhardtManuel Bernhardt (@elmanu) is a passionate engineer, author, speaker and consultant who has a keen interest in the science of building and operating networked applications that run smoothly despite their distributed nature. Since 2008, he has guided and trained enterprise teams on the transformation to distributed computing. In recent years he is focusing primarily on production systems that embrace the reactive application architecture, using Akka, Play Framework, Scala and Java to this end.

2 thoughts on “Please Welcome the 2017 Program Committee

Comments are closed.